Bija means seed. “The Bija mantras are one-syllable seed sounds that, when said aloud, activate the energy of the chakras in order to purify & balance the mind & body. When you speak the Bija mantras, you resonate with the energy of the associated chakra, helping you focus upon your own instinctive awareness of your body & its needs

What is a chakra? In Sanskrit, chakra translates into “wheel”. These “wheels” can be thought of as vortexes that both receive & radiate energy. There are 7 major energy centers (aka chakras) in the human body. They run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Emotions, physical health, & mental clarity affect how well each chakra can filter energy. This in turn dictates how pure the energy is that’s emitted from different regions of the body.

 Tripura is the ultimate, primordial Sakthi, the light of manifestation. She, the pile of letters of the alphabet, gave birth to the three worlds. At dissolution, She is the abode of all tattvas, still remaining Herself – Vamakeshvaratantra

Every Mantra has a color, an element, a devata (deity) or a divine form, and a method of recitation. In determining an appropriate mantra, astrology is taken into account, with reference made to the science of elements, color, and the predominant guna (tamas, rajas, sattva). According to the birth sign, one can decide on the Mantra.

Some mantras are for the earth element, others for water, fire, air, and ether elements.
Om – ether element.
Ram – fire element.
Gam – earth element.
Klim – water element
Ham – air element.
Each Mantra possesses two divisions – sound and form. For instance, Klim is the sound, a Bija mantra, and it has an image, which is revealed by a simple mantra.

These mantras will help activate all your energy centers and balances your inner energy thus helping you to live in harmony with your outer world.

One should use one’s rosary, which may be made of pearl, beautiful emeralds, lotus seeds, rudrakshas, crystal, coral, ruby, red sandalwood, and so forth


Bija Mantra is the very quintessence of Mantra and the seed (Bija) of the fruit which is Siddhi (spiritual achievement). These are properly monosyllabic. Om is a Vaidik Bija, but it is the source of all the other bijas. Tantrik Bijas represent particular Devata aspects of that which is presented as a whole in 0m. As a Mantra-Shastra, the Tantras have greatly elaborated the Bijas. Though a Mantra such as a Bija-mantra may not convey its meaning on its face, the initiate knows that its meaning is the own form (Svarupa) of the particular Devata whose Mantra it is, and that the essence of the Bija is that which makes letters sound, and exists in all which we say or hear. Every Mantra is thus a particular sound form (Rupa) of the Brahman. There are a very large number of these short unetymological vocables or Bijas such as Hrim, Shrim, Krim, Hum, Hum, Phat called by various names. Thus the first is called the Maya Bija, the second Lakshmi or Kamala Bija, the third Kali Bija, the fourth Kurca Bija (head and fall under the ether group), the fifth Varma Bija (Shield, defensive armor), the sixth Astra Bija (is a fierce form of Mantra that comprises in it seed words with a destructive frequency). Ram is Agni Bija, Em is Yoni Bija, Klim is Kama Bija, and Shrim is Kamala Bija, Aim Sarasvati or Matangi Bija and so forth. Each Devata has His or Her Bija. Thus Hrim is the Maya Bija, Krim the Kali Bija. The Bija is used in the worship of the Devata whose Mantra it is. All these Bijas mentioned are in common use. There are a large number of others, some of which are formed with the first letters of the name of the Devata for whom they stand, such as Gam and Glaum for Ganesha, Dum for Durga.

Take the great Bhuvaneshvari or Maya Bija, Hrim. Hrim = H + R + I + M. H = Shiva. R = Sakthi Prakriti. I = Mahamaya. The common ending “m” which represents the Sanskrit breathings known as Nada and Bindu or Candrabindu?

The Bija Mantra works at the deepest level, directly with your ‘cellular memory’ thus helping you clear long-held emotional and physical blocks. This can be experienced either in One-to-One sessions or in a safe and loving group of people: a Healing Circle. Through reciting the mantras we create a loving space to channel the higher energies that provide healing on all levels – physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual